Co-presented by:


The National Veterans Wheelchair Games is the world’s largest annual wheelchair sports and rehabilitation event solely for military veterans. The event demonstrates the unstoppable character of veterans and seeks to foster wider respect and opportunities for all people with disabilities.
The National Veterans Wheelchair Games is open to all U.S. veterans with spinal cord injuries, amputations, multiple sclerosis, or other central neurological conditions who require a wheelchair for athletic competition. Every year, hundreds of American heroes from World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Gulf War, and the post-9/11 era compete in this celebration of sport, courage and camaraderie.


The Department of Veterans Affairs launched the Wheelchair Games in 1981 with 7 events and 77 athletes. Paralyzed Veterans of America joined the VA in 1985 to help expand the event’s mission and reach. The Wheelchair Games has flourished as more VA therapists turn to adaptive sports to help veterans become more active in their lives and communities – and, in some cases, reach higher levels of national and international competition. Over the years, thousands of veterans with disabilities have gained the skills, confidence, and experience to take on challenges in the spirit of opportunity rather than limitation.




Every year, one athlete at the National Veterans Wheelchair games who shows exceptional drive and commitment will receive the “Spirit of the Games” award.

2023      Johnny S.

2022  Davis C.

2021       LeToi A., William H.

2021 AtHome Tony J.

2019      Twila A.

2018       Keith T.

2017       Ardrena B.

2016       Jeff D.

2015       Eugene T.

2014       Gabriel D.

2013       Mike S.

2011       Jerry “Bull” B.

2010       Patricia L.

2009       George N.

2008       Gus S.

2007       Joe V.

2006       Charles A.

2005       Orlando P.

2004       Gary P.

2003       Wayne M.

2002       Ken M.

2001       Laura S.

2000       Larry H.

1999       Ken H.

1998       Gil G.

1997       Robert Patrick S.

1996       Holly K.

1995       Penny G., James T.

1994       Tim D.

1993       Hope C.

1992       Kate C.

1991       Max R.

1990       Mike T.

1989       Jim M.

1988       Ken W.

1987       Russ M.